One Day – CD

£10.00 £7.00

Categories: , Tags: , ,


One Day

Recorded in one day this is a stripped back album, just Rob and his guitar.

Track list

  1. Bring Em All In
  2. This Road
  3. Roger Daltrey
  4. Hold you Tonight
  5. Hold Lightly
  6. Broken things
  7. Ready For the Storm
  8. Shadow Of Our Home
  9. Pride Of Place
  10. Wild Horses/Into the Mystic

Reviewed by Andy Shaw

A 2017 release, which missed our attention until now, this album shows the Midlands-based singer/songwriter rising to the challenge of recording, as the title suggests, a batch of songs in one day. Recording a stripped-down album with just vocals and acoustic guitar is always a risky business, but such is the passion of Rob’s performances that this is an album which holds your attention even if you are familiar with his full band versions of many of these songs. A good acoustic album requires strong songwriting, both lyrically and in the structure of the songs, and Rob Halligan continues to prove his ability to write that is both catchy and captivating. The opener is Rob’s much-loved cover of the Mike Scott gem “Bring Em All In” and that’s followed by some delicate finger-picked guitar on “Hold You Tonight”. Rob has mastered the art of storytelling in his lyrics and uses those stories to share truths about God. “Hold Lightly” talks about putting your trust in God and holding tightly to Him and that message of hope is carried through in “Broken Things” talking of how God takes our brokenness and makes it new.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “One Day – CD”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *